How To Temporarily Deactivate Your Facebook Account: Facebook is the world’s most popular social network, with billions of active users every day from all around the world.
Users spend a lot of time on Facebook, chatting with friends and family, posting pictures, meeting new people, and gaining access to so many other features that are available on this social network.
It would not be wrong to say Facebook, along with the internet, is one of the greatest inventions on the earth.
However, with the numerous reasons to use Facebook every day, there could be reasons to take a break from it. Users of Facebook might need to take a break from the social networking platform to
control addiction. Many users spend a large chunk of their time using Facebook and this makes them find it hard to pay attention to serious realities like work, family, and education.
Deactivating your Facebook account temporarily is definitely advice any addiction therapist would give. You might also decide to deactivate your Facebook account because of personal reasons.
One of these personal reasons could maybe be an attempt to avoid someone, ensuring the person would not be able to find you when searching for you on Facebook.
You could also feel you have lost interest in the social network and you feel you would regain it at some point in the future.
Don’t be scared, however, because deactivating your Facebook account is way different from deleting it. The major difference between both is that while deleting is permanent, deactivation is temporary.
When you deactivate your Facebook account, you can gain access to it later while deleting your Facebook account would be as good as you never had a Facebook account.
This means all of your chats, photos, and videos will not be available on Facebook. Also, you will be removed from posts where you were tagged and your profile will never be displayed when searched for on Facebook.
When you deactivate your account on Facebook, be rest assured your information, including your profile, pictures, and chats will not be lost.
Instead, they will be archived by Facebook and you can get them back whenever you decide to reactivate your Facebook account.
When your account is deactivated, your profile will not be accessible to both people on your friends list and the people outside of your friends list even though you will still appear on the lists of people who already have you as a friend on Facebook.
Also, when your account is deactivated, you can choose to use Facebook messenger which means you will be able to chat with your friends using the Messenger app. Also, your name and chat will appear if you are searched for on Facebook Messenger.
How To Deactivate Your Facebook Account
Deactivating your Facebook account might sound like something that would require long processes or you might feel there might be ‘top secret’ questions you need to answer.
On the contrary, deactivating your Facebook account is easy and does not require you to go through many steps or answer a lot of questions. You can deactivate your Facebook account by following these steps:
Log in to your account by visiting Facebook’s website www.facebook.com. If you have the Facebook mobile app installed on your phone, open it and log in to your account. To log in to your account, you will need to type in the email or
- phone number used to open the account and also your password in their respective fields. When the correct email/ phone number and password have been invited, select ‘log in’.
- When you are logged in, you will find a downward-facing arrow or 3 diagonal lines at the top right-hand corner of your homepage. Click on this tab.
- After that, you will see different menu options. Scroll down to find the ‘settings menu and click on it.
- After you click on settings, the next step is to select ‘general’.
- Next, click on ‘manage account’.
- After that, you will find a few options, the last of which is the ‘deactivate account’ option. Click on this to deactivate your Facebook account.
- After clicking on ‘deactivate account’, you will be asked to input your Facebook password. This is to ensure your Facebook account can only be deactivated by you or with your permission. Note that your account will not be deactivated if you can’t provide your password.
- After you enter your password, you will be asked to provide a reason for deactivating your Facebook account. Choose a suitable reason and click continue.
- After selecting ‘continue’, you will receive a prompt message to confirm your account has been deactivated temporarily.
How To Reactivate Your Facebook Account
If you wish to go back to your deactivated Facebook account at any point in time, you can reactivate it by simply logging in to your account using Facebook web, mobile or third party app.
When you log in, a confirmatory email will be sent to the email address you used to open your Facebook account. Ensure you have access to this email because, from the confirmatory email, you will be required to click on a link to reactivate the account.