There are lots of reasons why you might want to delete your Facebook account whether permanently or temporarily.
Despite being the world’s most popular social network with a mind-blowing 1.8 billion active users monthly, Facebook still has not met the needs of so many of these users. Their privacy policies in recent times have been a source of worry for so many people who use Facebook.
Also, you might want to delete your Facebook account for personal reasons. One of these personal reasons might be to avoid someone or a group of people and ensure they can’t reach you online.
In this article, you will learn about deleting Facebook accounts and how it can be done permanently or temporarily.
How To Delete Your Facebook Account
Deleting your Facebook account is easy and does not require”top-secret” questions to be answered. Follow these steps to delete your Facebook account permanently or temporarily with ease:
How To Delete Your Facebook Account Temporarily
- Log in to your Facebook account on your mobile device or PC using the web version of Facebook or Facebook app. To log in, you will be required to input your phone number or email and your password.
- Go to “settings” after you have logged in to your account. To go to settings, click on the arrow or three dots at the top right corner of your screen. Then you will see options including settings.
- After you click on “settings”, you will see different settings for your account. Click on account information.
- Next, click on “account ownership and control”.
- After that, you will be taken to another screen where you will find “deactivation and deletion”. Click on it.
- Then click on “deactivate account”.
- Alternatively, you can easily deactivate your Facebook account in the “settings” menu by clicking on “general” and then “deactivate your account”.
How To Delete Your Facebook Account Permanently
- Log in to your Facebook account via the Facebook app or on your browser by visiting the official Facebook website here. Logging into your Facebook account can be done on any internet enabled device.
- Go to the “settings” page by clicking on the arrow or three dots at the top right corner of your screen.
- In the “settings page, click on “account ownership and control”.
- Next, click on “deactivation and deletion”.
- Click on “delete your account”.
- You will then be asked whether or not you want to download your account information. You can choose to ignore it and continue with deletion of your account.
About Deleting Your Facebook Account
When you want to delete your Facebook account, you can choose to delete it permanently or temporarily.
The obvious difference between both is that while you can decide to reopen your Facebook account in the future if it is deleted temporarily, permanent deletion of your Facebook account means there will not be any way to retrieve it in the future.
What Happens When You Delete Your Facebook Account Temporarily
When you delete your Facebook account temporarily or deactivate it,
- You can decide to reactivate your account in the future.
- Other people can’t view your profile, see your timeline, send you a message or search for your Facebook account.
- Some information like messages you sent will still be visible to other people.
- Facebook saves all your account information and activities so you can continue where you left off whenever you decide to reactivate your Facebook account.
What Happens When You Delete Your Facebook Account Permanently
When you delete your Facebook account permanently,
- Facebook will delay deleting your account for some days after you choose to delete it. If you decide to change your mind in the duration of this grace period, you just need to log in to reactivate your account.
- Once your Facebook account has been permanently deleted, you can’t regain access to the account or get back the posts on the account.
- Messages you sent to friends will still remain visible to them as these information are not stored in your Facebook account.
- The data that’s stored in your backup system will take about 90 days to be deleted. During this time, your Facebook account information is not accessible by anyone.
- Log records and other materials still remain on Facebook’s database but have nothing to do with your Facebook account.